

# RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNCIL LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

Minutes of the virtual meeting of the Local Education Authority Governors Appointments Committee held on Tuesday, 1 March 2022 at 9.30 am.

# County Borough Councillors - Local Education Authority Governors Appointments Committee Members in attendance:-

Councillor J Bonetto (Chair)

Councillor J Brencher Councillor D Owen-Jones Councillor M Powell

#### Officers in attendance:-

Miss N Morgan, School Organisation and Governance Team Leader

### 23 APOLOGY FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from County Borough Councillor S.Rees-Owen.

## 24 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

**RESOLVED** – In accordance with the Members Code of Conduct, the following declaration of personal interest in a matter pertaining to the agenda was declared:-

County Borough Councillor J. Brencher in respect of agenda item 5 "I am a Governor at Maes-y-coed Primary and I will leave the meeting when the item is discussed".

County Borough Councillor D. Owen-Jones in respect of agenda item 5 "I am a Governor at Tonyrefail Community School and I will leave the meeting when the item is discussed".

County Borough Councillor M. Powell in respect of agenda item 5 "I am a Governor at Hawthorn High and Trallwng Infants".

County Borough Councillor J. Bonetto in respect of agenda item 5 "I am a Governor at Hawthorn High".

## 25 TO ELECT A CHAIRMAN

**RESOLVED** to elect County Borough Councillor J. Bonetto as Chair of the Local Education Authority Governors (Appointments) Committee for the 2021-22 municipal year.

#### 26 MINUTES

It was **RESOLVED** to approve the minutes of the 10<sup>th</sup> November 2021 as an accurate reflection of the meeting.

### 27 TO CONSIDER PASSING THE UNDER-MENTIONED RESOLUTION

**RESOLVED** that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing information.

# 28 APPLICATION FOR APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In her report, the School Organisation and Governance Team Leader advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, two applications for governorships were circulated for consideration.

Following consideration of the applications before them, Members **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below:

SCHOOL	GOVERNOR	EFFECTIVE
		<u>DATE</u>
Abernant Primary	Mr H Davies	11 <sup>th</sup> June 2022
Blaengwawr Primary	CBC S Evans	18 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Capcoch Primary	Mrs A Jenkins	18 <sup>th</sup> April 2022
Capcoch Primary	Ms J Cook	11 <sup>th</sup> June 2022
Caradog Primary	Mrs V Dunn	1 <sup>st</sup> March 2022
Cilfynydd Primary	Mrs M Belzak-	1st March 2022
	Harries	
Cwmaman Primary	Mr N Thorne	1 <sup>st</sup> September
		2022
Glenboi Primary	Mrs B Jones	18 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Llantrisant Primary	Mrs M Chieza	1 <sup>st</sup> March 2022
Llwydcoed Primary	Mr A Falder	1 <sup>st</sup> March 2022
Maes-y-coed Primary	CBC J Brencher	1 <sup>st</sup> March 2022
Miskin Primary	Mr S Cartwright	1 <sup>st</sup> March 2022
Our Lady's RC Primary	Mr G Griffiths-	1 <sup>st</sup> March 2022

	Southcombe	
Parc Lewis Primary	Mr G Jones	18 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Pengeulan Primary	Mr A Meikle	11 <sup>th</sup> June 2022
Penrhys Primary	Dr G Rogers	1st March 2022
Penyrenglyn Primary	Mrs J Rees	1st March 2022
Trallwng Infants	Mr D Davies	1st March 2022
Tylorstown Primary	Rev D Jones	15 <sup>th</sup> February
		2022
Williamstown Primary	Mrs S Morgan	1st March 2022
Ynysboeth Primary	Mrs E Clark	1st March 2022
YGG Abercynon	Mr C Newcombe	1st March 2022
YGG Castellau	CBC J Barton	18 <sup>th</sup> April 2022
YGG Llyn y Forwyn	CBC S Morgans	1st March 2022
Ysgol Llanhari	Mr C Newcombe	1st March 2022
Park Lane Special	Mrs V Howells	1st March 2022
Ysgol Hen Felin	Mr P Mounce	1st March 2022
Porth County Community	Mr D Brookes	1st September
School		2022
Porth County Community	CBC G Caple	1st September
School		2022
Tonyrefail Community School	Mrs C Rees	1 <sup>st</sup> September
		2022
Tonyrefail Community School	CBC Owen-Jones	1st September
		2022
Ysgol Nantgwyn	Mrs S Jones	1st September
		2022
Ysgol Nantgwyn	CBC G Hughes	1 <sup>st</sup> September
	00000	2022
Aberdare Community School	CBC S Bradwick	1 <sup>st</sup> September
1 0 1 1	NA 0 14/1 :	2022
Aberdare Community School	Mr S Whippey	1 <sup>st</sup> September
Abandana Oananiiti Oabaal	Mars V/ Division	2022
Aberdare Community School	Mrs V Dunn	1 <sup>st</sup> September
Abandara Caranavraite Cabaal	CDC Linda Da Vat	2022
Aberdare Community School	CBC Linda De Vet	1 <sup>st</sup> September
Form dolo Compressión Coherel	Mr.I/ Jones	2022
Ferndale Community School	Mr K Jones	1 <sup>st</sup> March 2022
Hawthorn High School	Mr G Jones	18 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Y Pant Comprehensive School	CBC G Holmes	15 <sup>th</sup> February 2022
New Welsh Primary School	Miss R Llewellyn	1st March 2022

(**Note:** Having earlier declared a personal and prejudicial interest in the matter County Borough Councillor J. Brencher left the meeting for the Appointment of the Governors at Maes-y-Coed Primary).

(**Note:** Having earlier declared a personal and prejudicial interest in the matter County Borough Councillor D. Owen-Jones left the meeting for the Appointment of the Governors at Tonyrefail Community School).

This meeting closed at 10.03 am

CLLR J BONETTO CHAIR.